Knitter's Paradise
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 3, 4, 5  Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Back to Forum -> Artists' Quarter [Nov.'19]
Thu Sep 20, 2012 2:45 pm
I am very new at knitting basically I only know the very BASIC stitches. But I am learning.

I figured a thread where people could chat, share patterns, techniques, and give each other gentle advice would be nice.

I am currently (still) working on my first project. A baby blanket for my daughter. I've been working it for months... No exaggeration, probably even close to a year, but I'm a perfectionist so I keep. Restarting.

Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:32 pm
You'd be done or almost done by now, if you didn't knitpick over it.... Or if the kids didn't insist on sabotage.

I can finally see the end of this purse I'm working on! I'll be so glad when it's done!

I even think I have some nice material to use to line it!

Dedicated Citizen
Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:54 pm
I'm a horrible knitter, end of story, seriously I can't get past the first two types of stitches.
Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:00 pm
It's really knits and purls. The advanced stuff is different variations of those stitches. If you can understand the knit stitch, and the purl stitch you've got the basics.

Dedicated Citizen
Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:12 pm
The reason I can't get past it isn't really lack of understanding, though I'm sure there will be that too, but more about the fact that I'm just really bad at doing them. I drop stitches left and right because something slipped.
Thu Sep 20, 2012 4:29 pm
I think it was Bamboo needles that are suggest to help not drop stitches. Smile